Democrats Melonie Marano, Jeff Martin, Thad Kobylarz and Arvin Amatorio were featured in the campaign and flipped Republican held seats. 

TRENTON, NJ — The New Jersey Democratic State Committee’s “21-in-21” campaign that highlighted Democrats in every county in the state running for office yielded tremendous results in helping candidates flip Republican-held seats blue. Democratic candidates highlighted in the campaign include Somerset County Freeholder-elect Melonie Marano, whose victory will usher in Democratic control of county government for the first time since the 1960s. The program also featured three Democrats who won closely watched mayors races against incumbent Republicans — Hamilton Mayor-elect Jeff Martin, Chatham Mayor-elect Thad Kobylarz and Bergenfield Mayor-elect Arvin Amatorio. 

“This new program allowed our team to shine a spotlight on some of the outstanding Democratic candidates running for office this year up and down the ballot,” said NJDSC Chairman John Currie. “Winning keys races across the state over the last few years is a true testament to the momentum for progressive change building in New Jersey, because residents want representatives who will fight for middle class families and stand up for progressive values. I’m looking forward to working closely with the newly elected leaders within our party to continue our goal of building a state that is stronger and fairer for everyone.” 

The campaign took place during the final 21 days of the election and generating over 50,000 impressions across the NJDSC social media platforms through both organic reach and paid advertising targeted at voters within the jurisdiction where each candidate was running. That crucial boost in name identification helps local candidates running with limited resources reach voters and prevail on Election Day. 

Other winning candidates highlighted in the program include Hudson County Executive Tom DeGise, Atlantic County Freeholder Ernest Coursey, Roseland Councilwoman-elect Marcelino Trillo, LD5 Assemblyman-elect William Moen and Assemblyman William Spearman, Cumberland County Clerk Celeste Riley, Gloucester County Freeholders Frank Dimarco and Dan Christy and Middlesex County Sheriff Mildred Scott.